My guitar playing isn't what I want it to be. I can only alternate pick 16th notes at 130bpm. and literally that's ALL I practice. I practice 6+ hours a day. during the school week I can usually only fit in maybe 3-4 sometimes a little less.

My parents take away my guitar whenever my grades drop below a C. Now they're threatening to take them away at a C....I've already been accepted to college, and I know I'll keep the acceptance with at least C's in my three core classes. Why can't my parents see this?

My mom doesn't like the fact I want guitar as a future. And she thinks i'm better at clarinet....because of how much she takes the guitar away and how little progress over the past year my alternate picking has gotten....ive been playing guitar for almost 6 years now

I keep doubting myself ill ever make it. I'm not doing anything but guitar in college. And possibly grad school. But with so little improvement in my playing and my parents always being on my ass, idk how to make the best of it....

Anyone go through though times and pull through? Just so I know i'm not alone. I had a band mate who could shred it up and BIG TIME. and hes been playing guitar for the same amount of time I have. I know with the right amount of practice time it's not far away and I've gotten way into it...just I need to know how to stay motivated.
Last edited by McZaxon at Jan 6, 2014,
1) It's not all about speed....just ask your girlfriend.
2) All things in due time. If college is the key to you future then learning to balance guitar with school now will help you in college....not to mention your career and marriage(s)
3) If you are majoring in music or guitar then you have an excuse to work on that instead of some core requirement hoop drill at the end of a senior year in high school ( I am a high school teacher....I know you have a condition commonly known as senioritis).
But more to your question: