Hi friends
after reading through 311's extremely informative amp biasing tutorial http://profile.ultimate-guitar.com/311ZOSOVHJH/blog/?to=on&date[month]=2&date[day]=25&date[year]=2010
I now feel ready to ditch the stock valves in my plexi for something nicer. I bought it used (barely) a couple of months ago, and just finished paying off my credit card debt (i'm a full time student working my ass off to support gear fetishes, I'm sure many of you are the same ). Anyway I've managed to save some extra cash for new valves and a bias probe etc but before I proceed I just have a couple of questions.

I'd like to preface this by saying I have an intermediate experience level with electronics and am good at following instructions, and I plan on following all of the relevant safety procedures when I do this, having been electrocuted several times in the past (not by amps!)

After reading Cathbard's advice on valve selection in an earlier thread, I'm considering a matched quad of Mullard EL34's for the power section and a JJ ECC803 in V1 of the pre, and two Mullard ECC83S's in V2 and V3, and the Eurotubes pro-one bias probe (not wanting to use my cheapo multimeter). Basically I'm just wondering is it worth paying for a matched quad? Thoughts on gold pins? I'm not keen on paying for NOS but I've heard good things about new mullards.

Also, some of the pots are pretty scratchy, especially the presence knob, I took a look inside the back of the amp the other day and everything was very clean with no sign of dirt or corrosion and minimal dust. I'll change the valves first but plan on using some contact cleaner on the pots after, any recommendations for a good contact cleaner? (in Australia) Pretty sure we don't have deoxit or super 10 here. Cheers for reading, please excuse the essay, I promise gut shots and a video of the final product cranked in my backyard when I'm done!
Thanks

Yes, you want a matched quad
Don't worry about gold pins - that's snake oil