A little background. I have been playing guitar for about 14 years. Don't let that fool you though. I have taken one year of "lessons" (a guitar class in high school) and would consider myself a campfire strummer more than anything else.

I have a dilemma (possibly). I am left handed but "learned" to play the guitar right handed. I was successful to a point but have plateaued, like 13 years ago (that's 1 year after picking up a guitar if you aren't good at math).

I will admit that I haven't put in nearly the effort that would be required to be where most people are after 14 years of playing so I'm not expecting switching hands to be an overnight fix. I just want some opinions on whether it will be worth it if I get serious and really buckle down on learning how to play.

Here is my one major concern with not switching hands: I can't hold the pick correctly with my right hand to save my life. When I first started playing, with zero instruction, I held the pick between my thumb and the pads of my pointer and middle finger. Now I have been able to "improve" to holding the pick between my thumb and the pad of only my pointer finger. I cannot, however, hold the pick between my thumb and the side of my pointer finger. When I try my hand looks like some arthritic crab claw disaster. I can hold the pick correctly with my left hand though.

I am pretty good at rythm guitar but don't have a prayer when it comes to picking individual strings. I mean I can get by after practicing a song forever but I certainly don't use any conventional picking patterns. Aside from that, my pick slowly turns until I am strumming/picking with the side of the pick and I have to constantly turn it back to normal (not sure if this is any kind of common problem or anyone has any advice outside of switching hands for this).