I'm self taught and have been playing for years now, but one thing I just can't seem to get the hang of is stepping transitions between chords. I can step between a G and Em chord but that's all, and I can't seem to find any articles or videos online to help.

Maybe there's a more technical term and I'm searching for the wrong thing?

Any tips would be appreciated!
Yep, ut rather than just moving from one chord to another, kind of stepping into the next chord?

For G to Em, I go

e|-3------3------3--------|
B|-3------3------3--------|
G|--------------------------|
D|----------------2--------|
A|-2--------------2--------|
E|-3------2----------------|
Quote by SophieIsabella

For G to Em, I go

e|-3------3------3--------|
B|-3------3------3--------|
G|--------------------------|
D|----------------2--------|
A|-2--------------2--------|
E|-3------2----------------|

It's a common misconception that the chord you wrote there is a G chord. traditionally a G chord would not have the 3rd fret (D note) played on the B string and it would instead be an open string. It took me a good 2 or 3 years before i knew this to be honest and when i found out i was like whatttt.
Don't get me wrong, it is still a G chord because it retains the notes G, B and D, but if someone asked you to play a G chord they wouldn't usually refer to that particular voicing.
Quote by vayne92
It's a common misconception that the chord you wrote there is a G chord. traditionally a G chord would not have the 3rd fret (D note) played on the B string and it would instead be an open string. It took me a good 2 or 3 years before i knew this to be honest and when i found out i was like whatttt.
Don't get me wrong, it is still a G chord because it retains the notes G, B and D, but if someone asked you to play a G chord they wouldn't usually refer to that particular voicing.