Hi.
I started playing guitar like 2 and a half years ago. I picked up a classical guitar so it won't make a lot of noise, cheap (I bought a simple one for like 80$), and good for beginners. my main genres are rock, grunge and stuff like that and I feel like the classical neck is restricting my play and I'm pretty much stuck on the same level for a long time..

I'm interested in an acoustic guitar that has a neck similar to an electric one so I have easy access to higher notes on the neck, and the overall feel of playing would be similar to an electric one so I can improve my soloing, scales all over the neck and so forth so when I play sessions with friend and I pick up an electric guitar it won't feel strange... the reason I'm not buying an electric guitar is the noise and I want to play freely without headphones and things like that (wish I had a bigger house :P)..

My budget is around 400~500$ (if you know any thing cheaper that suit my needs that would be good too) and I would very appreciate your suggestions. I really like the sound of grunge on acoustic so if you know some specific models/brands that would be good
in a way the electric is better for noise because you have that option of using headphones or playing unplugged where only you can hear it.... with an acoustic you're making noise no matter if you're plugged in or not... and wearing headphones doesn't stop the sound from playing to the room.
You're right but unplugged electric is not fun at all! the noise level of an acoustic is similar to my classic one and it doesn't bother my family at all.. I tried borrowing an electric from a friend and playing with headphones but it wasn't fun either.. the whole setting up of plugging the guitar, plugging the headphone adapter and then the headphones is just not spontaneous at all and I love playing my guitar spontaneously just when I feel like it.
I thought the forum would be more active.. Do you guys know any popular forum for guitar purchasing advises?