I need help on picking technique. I've been playing guitar for 7 years, all self-taught, but I'm running into problems as I try to play faster and technical material.
I've been doing a closed fist style of picking with my fingers curled, but I and my bandmates have noticed my index finger while holding the pick slips into a curled position, making my pick control sloppy. When trying to play fast gallops, I try to use my wrist. But I can't play as fast as I want and I run out of stamina as my shoulder and wrists get sore. I also play guitar tense and it's hard for me to relax playing.
One of my friends recommended I make an L shape with my index finger, meeting the thumb, while holding the 3 remaining fingers out in a straight line. I'm trying it, but it feels strange, and I'm trying to get the right picking style where I can play Master of Puppets or Cryptopsy no problem with no fatigue. Though I know I need to start slow.
Last edited by derekguitar88 at Jan 10, 2014,
While not everyone agrees, I've always believed that ultimately, comfort is always more important than whatever standardised technique worked for the person before. I usually close my fist Loosely with my index at a bent 75 degrees, my thumb cut diagonally straight across and the pick in between straight, which in application lends it a 45degree angle best for speed picking, with my fist bunched loose and my wrist as free as I can make it, obviously this tightens up with speed. (my fingers are like, double jointed so this may not work for everyone, but play how you feel most comfortable is the message)