I'm new to guitar, but I'm learning a great deal as time passes. I was learning a Tab and it was told to me that it was in the Key of E, but the main 4 chords seemed to be A B C#m B.

It got me wondering what is the Key of C vs the Key of E as it concerns guitars. What would be an example of a chord or chord arrangement when something is in the key of C vs E? If you have A B C#m B, what makes this Key of E?

Thanks, I could use help understanding this.
The key of E major has E F# G# A B C# D#, which your A, C#m and two B's all fit into, the key of C major is really quite easy to remember, it contains the notes C, D, E, F, G, A and B, it's the C#m in the progression that doesn't fit in with the C key and so makes the chord progression in the key of E.

I would really suggest looking in the music theory columns and lessons on this site or on youtube for an introduction to keys.
Quote by MistaChy
I'm new to guitar, but I'm learning a great deal as time passes. I was learning a Tab and it was told to me that it was in the Key of E, but the main 4 chords seemed to be A B C#m B.

It got me wondering what is the Key of C vs the Key of E as it concerns guitars. What would be an example of a chord or chord arrangement when something is in the key of C vs E? If you have A B C#m B, what makes this Key of E?

Thanks, I could use help understanding this.

Think of the Key of a song or section of music as having two parts:

1) a tonal center, which is the central sound (note) of the piece. It is the note that sounds and 'feels' most like 'home base' Think: resolution

2) a 'tonality' or 'mood' as in major or minor. Those that have studied music a while see Major and Minor as being subdivided by three major modes and three minor modes, but that is a different study in itself