Greetings,
I have a pretty dumb question. I'm very new to stacks and how to properly choose the right speaker output.
So: I have a Marshall JCM 800 Lead Series 300 Watt 16 Ohm Box from the 80s which I got for very little money. I already have a Marshall AVT150 Head with one 4 Ohm and one 8 Ohm speaker output. Since I got it with a matching AVT Box I never thought about what it is about ohms and just plugged it in without any problems.
But will the AVT150 Head work with the JCM Box? I have absolutely no idea and I no knowledge about electronics, resistance or anything. I suck at math, electronics and science
Any advice would be great.

Note: I do not plan on using the AVT Head together with the JCM Box in the future. I'm upgrading my entire equipment and will get a new head. I just got the box and want to try it (or maybe not, depending on what you say)

Short: Head with 4/8 Ohm speaker outputs and 16 ohm box. Do they work together?
Last edited by Reinima at Jan 15, 2014,
Yes you can use it
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Sorry for ignorance and I'm not trying to threadjack, but what are these "boxes"? I literally have no idea what you're talking about.
RG351DX - Bridge Dragonfire Screamer, Mid+Neck Fender Hot Noiseless
Peavey Valveking 112 - Eminence GB128
AMT E1 > Joyo AC Tone > Dan'o EQ > Shimverb > Digidelay
He's talking about 4x12 cabs. He is just calling them a box
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
It actually won't matter a lot but just use the 8 ohm output on the amp and you'll be fine.