I am playing from the last 2 years now. I am a novice in guitar theory.
I want to know that, the positions of the notes is fixed on the fret board right?
Like e note can be played on the open 6th string, 12 fret 6th string, 2 fret 4th string etc.
If it is like this, then why cant I play the e note on anywhere on the fret board.
Like 3rd fret 6th string? And then I will adjust the notes ahead of it like every note
On the string will go up 3 frets. If I can do this then why do we have these fixed positions
Of the notes. Please help me. Thanks.
There is no guitar theory. It's music theory.
I don't understand what you're asking. Every fret on the fretboard is a certain note. 3rd fret of the 6th string is a G.
Yeah I'm sorry @macashmack I meant music theory. I want to ask that for example let me call the 3 fret 6 string e note. So if I play that and then I play notes ahead of it like then 4th fret will become f then 5th will be f#. Why cant I do like this? This way I can vary the sound of the note. I mean why can't i play a song which starts basically on the 5th fret 6 string ON: 3rd fret 6 string?
you can. just don't play it with a band, because it's going to sound awful.

but musicians do that all the time. it's called transposition. except you're not playing in E anymore. now you're playing in G. so if everyone else is playing in E and you decide to play in G you're likely not going to get a very good sound.
Anfangen ist leicht, Beharren eine Kunst.
Quote by mueedbilal
Yeah I'm sorry @macashmack I meant music theory. I want to ask that for example let me call the 3 fret 6 string e note. So if I play that and then I play notes ahead of it like then 4th fret will become f then 5th will be f#. Why cant I do like this? This way I can vary the sound of the note. I mean why can't i play a song which starts basically on the 5th fret 6 string ON: 3rd fret 6 string?