Im learning the minor pentatonic scale, and I learned (what i soon found out to be) the first position. I started playing it and got fairly good at it. So i thought, "great now I can learn another scale". But then i found out that was only the first out of five positions in the minor pentatonic scale. I have since learned the second position, but it makes me kindof nervous to learn all of these different positions going up the neck.Do I have to learn all the shapes? or can I use one or two and move them up and down the neck? Are all scales like this? and if so, how long does it usually take someone to learn? any info would be great!
Last edited by maraistmatthew at Jan 21, 2014,
The shapes are there for convenience and nothing more. Instead of spending your time learning the shapes, learn the notes of the fretboard, and learn some theory, specifically which notes are in which scales. The notes exist all across the fretboard, and as such, so do the scales. All scales can be arranged in boxed shapes, but if you just concentrate on learning those shapes, they can be more a hindrance than a benefit. If you get too used to them, you may have trouble moving around the fretboard.
Quote by Geldin
Junior's usually at least a little terse, but he knows his stuff. I've always read his posts in a grouchy grandfather voice, a grouchy grandfather with a huge stiffy for alternate picking.
Besides that, he's right this time. As usual.
I agree with Junior#1 but I wouldn't say learning the 5 positions would be a bad thing and I wouldn't be afraid of them ether. If you put your mind to it you will learn it over time. Mastering the notes of a fretboard can be a big task that's coming from a guy not there yet.

Just don't get to caught up in scales though as ^^ said you have to try to to understand why the scales work the way they do through notes and theory. Sometimes imo the scales can kinda help you understand visually.