I am considering building my own 7 string V. I will however order the neck. I have some questions because I have never built a guitar before. I have repaired my own necks/head stocks, bodies, bandings, and joints on both acoustics and electrics. I have a lot of wood working experience and a large collection of quality tools to do the job. My questions relate to some of the technical aspects of the build.

First, bolt on, set, or neck through? I am NOT concerned with what might happen if the neck breaks. So that is not a plus or minus to me. But I am curious about things like if there would be too much tension to go with bolt on? Will the neck need regular adjusting because of this. If I bang the neck or head stock will that jack things around easily? If a set or neck through is a better choice, I am thinking that a neck through design is a better choice. For one thing, if it is a set neck, I'd have to also order a body, probably from the same company so that the neck and pocket are matched. I don't really want to buy a body because I want to design my own shape and size. With a neck through I can make it what ever I want. Also, I like the fact that you can easily get to the upper frets on the neck through.

Second, what wood for the neck. I am leaning towards mahogany for the neck because I definitely want mahogany for the body. However I am looking for suggestions about this.

Third, fretboard? Is there a significant difference between the different fretboard material? Also, fret wire? Is there something significantly different about a 7 string that would change what otherwise is standard? I'm not a total shredder so I don't need superfast action.