I started playing guitar a few months ago, am a bass player by heart, and I now am pretty decent in playing the non-barre chords and switching between them.
Now I'm trying to advance towards barre chords and power chords, but I'm doing a horrible job and I just can't figure out how to practice and advance playing these.

First off, what do I do first, power chords or barre chords?
My positioning with the power chords is still very inaccurate and slow, and my finger strength isn't quite what it should be to be able to play barre chords.

Then, once I have figured out how to play a certain power chord, my switching to an other power chord just doesn't seem to cut it. I miss the chord nearly all the time.
It's like I do not have the control I need over my fingers, especially my pinkie.

These problems all cause me to just go back to the basic chords. While I can play a decent amount of songs using them, I can never do anything advanced and I'm just stuck in my same rythm.

How do I advance in learning to play guitar?
Does anybody know any solutions or is anybody able to give me tips?
Would be much appreciated, thank you!
The most efficient way is to do barre chords, after all a power chord is simply part of a full barre chord - the bottom 2 or 3 notes.

That means if you learn to play a particular barre chord you've automatically learned how to play the powerchord equivalent, you just don't play all the notes. It will take a bit of time but everything on the guitar takes time, sadly most things won't simply click overnight especially early on.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com