Are we past the times of guitar virtuosos? I know a lot of these guys had their times in the 80's when heavy distorted guitars were culturally relevant. But what about us guys who still love that sound, and put forth an effort to shred on their axe in the same style? Should we be focusing on the drops in some wub wub step? If we want to get heard do we have to automate the shit out of some filter plug in so our VST synth has depth?

I don't mind hearing some of that music these days, but I LOVE making my reverb heavy guitar scream. The emotion you can display in those high pitched wails created by the careful bends of our fingers. Hitting a midi keyboard is boring.

I think I may have been born in the wrong decade.
Last edited by Chaise Boogie at Jan 23, 2014,
Those kinds of guitarists are still out there, they're just not getting the airplay & publcity they used to.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
Play what you like, fukk everyone else
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
+1 to both

i was born in the right decade, problem is I'd have needed to be 23 during that decade

then again i'm younger than those guys so that's nice.
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3
I'll have to put the Classic T models on my to-try list. Shame the finish options there are Anachronism Gold, Nuclear Waste and Aged Clown, because in principle the plaintop is right up my alley.

Quote by K33nbl4d3