Besides the brootlz, a lot of the music (guitar work) doesn't seem to match the vocals at all, a lot of the time. The verse riffs themselves don't sound loopable/like one consistent idea. Almost sounds like a solo itself sometimes (bands like periphery). Sounds like a huge ****ton of stuff happening with guitar and vocals are just slapped over it, regardless if it makes sense with the rest of the music. I like Periphery. And I'm just getting into this side of the progressive fence.

But I'm not really liking how insane and disjointed some of the riffs can be. Is this a common thing in the genre? And I don't mean disjointed by time sig or syncopation. I mean a riff existing for no real reason. You get through a segment of the song and it was just like; 1. Didn't match with the rest of the music 2. Sounded random as hell 3. guitar show-off

I'm starting to think that it's more a musicians style. Because only someone that plays can even appreciate the technicality of it. Seriously, I hate how so much of it sounds like it's being technical for the sake of being technical, because to my ears, it has no context at all.
You're not he only one. I like really well-done prog, but when it's just a bunch of stuff, I lose interest.
"I agree with Matthew about everything" - Everyone
I can agree to some extent. Some artists just write technical stuff for the sake of being technical, which is stupid in my opinion. I think it has to do with that many players (especially in the metal and shred genres) look down upon players that play simpler stuff, seeing them as inadequate cause they are writing something that might be "simpler" in technical terms.