Recently I've started making music on Logic Pro X, and although the music itself isn't too bad, I'm struggling to get that 'really big, professional sound'. You know, the thing that separates an amateur from a pro. Whenever I make a song, I adjust the eq, add compression, filter, etc but the end product is never quite up to the standard of the big, well produced hits. I've tried making some electronic music recently (don't judge) and I noticed how the hits I listened to are all professional sounding. I was just wondering if anyone would care to share their tips and tricks for mixing and mastering to get that desired sound.

Oh, and another question: does it matter, when making a song, that a lot of my tracks are turned down quite a lot (like -3 to -20 dB)? I always keep the master the same, and the output level no lower than -2 to -3 dB. As you can probably guess I'm new to producing etc, so I just wanted to know whether this affects the sound quality? Should I try to keep it as close to 0 as possible?

Thanks for any replies
Quote by mickel_w
I'm struggling to get that 'really big, professional sound'. You know, the thing that separates an amateur from a pro.

welcome to the club.

Quote by mickel_w

Whenever I make a song, I adjust the eq, add compression, filter, etc but the end product is never quite up to the standard of the big, well produced hits.

The answer to this is simple - a lifetime of experience + great gear + a great environment.

In more practical terms, it means learning to make the best you can with what you have. That in itself is a huge investment of time spent learning, practicing, etc. If you figure that it takes a person, say, five years to become even reasonably good at playing guitar, or carpentry, or painting, or stitching clothing, or cutting hair, or programming a computer, or cooking, or whatever, then recording is no different.