Hello all, first post here....so I want to buy my first electric guitar, I have been practicing and learning on an acoustic, however I'm very new at it too. So I been reading about it and want to get a decent guitar that will work and sound good. I know I can get one of the packages with amp, strap and all that like the epiphone performance that comes with a Les Paul Special II, but I wan a better guitar and dont mind getting a better amp. I dont want to spend more than $400 for the guitar so I narrowed down to the Epiphone Les Paul Standard or the G-400 Pro. I know about the issue with neck dive of the G-400 but a wide strap will solve that. So what are your thoughts? which one will be better as "beginner"? I'm interested in rock, metal and similar. Any suggestions?
Either one is a perfectly good budget electric. The best thing is to just play both and see whichever one you find most comfortable.
The g-400 pro has got coil-tapping which makes the guitar a bit more versatile than the Les Paul but they're both good guitars. I have got an Epiphone G-400 (the regular one, not the Pro version) and I think it's a really nice guitar for the money but the same thing can be said about the Les Paul. You should try them both in the store and then decide which one you like best.
I used to have the g-400 as well. The pro version. I loved it at the time and it is a great deal for the money. It is also much lighter than the LP so if your going to be playing with a strap a lot I'd go for the SG. However, I have played the LP as well and its also a great guitar for the money. So like the others have said, just play both of them. In my personal opinion the SG is better looking...
tpt
Also, I'm not sure if a wide strap will solve the neck dive problem on the SG. On mine I just moved the location of the strap knob to the top horn and it work very well.
tpt
Quote by JustRooster