Hey, this is my very first post here, so I hope I don't get banned for repeating a topic or something like that. I couldn't find anyone to discuss this specific subject and it's probably a good way to start participating in the forum.

Today I read this article: http://jazzadvice.com/how-to-be-mediocre
It's about "How To Be Mediocre" on improvising with your guitar. It means you have to follow the contrary of the advices they give. For example, the first advice called my atention because it talks about learning to play songs by ear and transcribing it to the paper. I never did that! I feel mediocre. So I wanted to get opinions and know a bit more about what players think about the method I use and if there's someone who also developed a particular method to learn.

I've been learning guitar (mainly acoustic) for about 6 or 7 years now and I have always been more performer than improviser. I was mainly interested on singing, so I learned to play the guitar to be able to sing without needing someone to play for me. In fact, I've learned to play quite well! I can play some difficult fingerstyle songs without missing the beat. The problem is that I never learned to play a song by ear! It was always through the chords, tabs or video tutorials. Now that I finally started writing my own stuff, I felt the need to train my ears and improvise. I'm training the intervals listening to them being played on different instruments and I'm also learning to apply them with my guitar. To practice scales and the notes, I first pick a key, then I look for songs I like on that key and practice the scale on differend sequences until I can memorise. Then I go to youtube and pick a tutorial to play that song on the best way possible, just to learn the style of the song and explore the scales. With the song I learn, I can identify the scale, the intervals, the notes and perform. The thing is that. actually, I don't know wether I'm getting myself trapped on a stupid way to learn guitar and if