Hello,

I'm after a smallish/ compact amp for gigging in small venues. A 1x 12 combo or head with 1x 12 cab, ideally. Just for convenience sake.

A tube/ valve amp would be preferable. Although I am very open solid state/ modelling if they'll cut through the mix.

Ideally I want to buy brand new. I've had some bad experiences with used musical equipment in the past. Plus the assurance of a warranty etc.

I mainly play heavy rock, so it needs to have a good amount of gain.

I've a budget of around £400. Don't really want to spend more than that, but less would be good

I also need some effects. Adding up the value of the effects pedals that I would need for certain songs I play, it would cost me around £100. So maybe some built in effects would be good?

As such, I currently have 3 amps in mind. But I'm open to suggestions...

1, Line 6 Spider Valve MKII; Discontinued, so available for relatively cheap. Although, to get the most out of it, it would be best to have the FBV shortboard (to use the looper etc), which is an extra £160.

2, Jet City JCA 5012C (Combo), or JCA50H (Head) with small cab; Heard mixed reviews of these amps. So I'm not too sure. A lot of people recommend them for heavier music though. And they are really cheap for a straight up tube amp. Is there any advantage to having a head and cab over the combo?

Lastly, 3, VOX VT80+; Pretty much the Vox Spider equivalent, but more solid state, because it only has one tube in. I've heard some good things about them. Are they actually good though? And would it be loud enough to gig with? I'm very curious about these. Because if they're decent, it would have everything I need, and be the best value for money.

Anyway, as I said, I'm open to suggestions, so I'd appreciate any advice or information.

Cheers.
No contest - the JCA50.
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Atomic Amplifire