Hi all,

Its my 18th Birthday coming up and my parents have agreed to let me get a custom guitar. I am based in the UK so preferably I would be looking to buy from somewhere over here, however I am open to other suggestions if they ship. The main reason I want to get a custom guitar is because I've been playing for 9 years now and I know pretty much what I want, and being a lefty, the more expensive you go, the less guitars you can get and the less choice you have.

The provisional design i have is:

Tele shape guitar in a dark wood
Relatively lightweight
Bigsby tremolo
Kill switch button
There needs to be the classic tele 'twang' - though preferably through a coil split humbucker

So i have a few questions for you experienced guitar buyers/sellers/makers/players.

1) What electric guitar builders/luthiers do you recommend? Ive contacted The Creamery which i really liked the look of, but apparently he's just about to launch a guitar range so is taking a break from customs and so any ideas will be much appreciated

2) Is there anything that you recommend changing or doing to the brief i outlined above given your experience?

3) For the pickups, if split coil is a bad option would the bridge or the neck be best to have a humbucker?

Many thanks,

James
What is your budget? Custom guitars get expensive really quick.

You could order a custom neck and body from www.warmoth.com and put the hardware on it you want. You can have a good guitar tech assemble it and set it up so it plays right.
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
there are a bunch. bear in mind I haven't tried all of these, nor is this an exhaustive list.

off the top of my head, there's legra, feline, stormshadow, jaden rose. there are a bunch of others too.

i think there's a forum of UK luthiers too, maybe. don't quote me on that, though.