Hello all,

Just a quick question. Been doing some transcribing lately (complete beginner, but have figured 4 solos so far).

My question is regarding transcribing the chord changes themselves, which I gather is really important:

Is it advisable to keep "plugging away" at the solos and get more under my belt before I try to transcribe harmonies? Or am I wasting my time focusing solely on the solos without the chords? At the moment, figuring out the underlying chords/progressions seems an absolute impossibility for me....I'm not even sure where to begin, considering my chord vocabulary is very limited in the first place, so there's not even a reference point (I literally know almost nothing regarding music theory, it's always confused the crap out of me...god knows I've tried to learn it).

So, what would be a good approach in my case? I'm really keen to start figuring out chord voicings but it seems like one hell of a task to "construct" them using purely my ear without any existing knowledge of the shapes/inversions etc. Maybe this is not even possible?

I have somewhat of a pseudo-science theory that if I transcribe enough solos I'll be able to recognize intervals separately and then maybe hearing them in unison will be easier?
yeah you need to do both. The solos are based entirely on the chords, so they're kinda useless without knowing the harmony.

90% of the time, the chord root is the same as the bass note. Follow the bass line, and that'll get you most of the chords.

You'll probably have a very difficult time with this if you don't already know your basic chords/scales and how to play them. Get plugging on both, you'll get better at it.
Well, yes and no.

Just keeping learning solos will undoubtedly still improve your ear, but transcribing is much like playing. If you practice a lot of metal guitar and become a very technical metal player, you may still have problems playing country or jazz or blues because they use different techniques and characteristics.