Hello.

I am 95% self taught so far. I know most of the chords up and down the fretboard (Major, Minor, 7ths and 9ths mostly) Now I have reached a fork in the road and I want to take the best path.

I have learned the C Major scale at the open position (which of course means I have learned pretty much any scale somewhere on the fretboard).

So I am happy. With little thought, should someone say, hey play me an F Major scale, I can do it (not automatically, but with little thought as I do have the note map of the fretboard in my mind)......but only at one position. Same for all the others. The reason being is that I can play a note and tell you what note it is, I cannot just list off all the notes of a particular scale. I could just try to memorize it and figure it out from there, but my mind works much faster when thinking of a pattern. I know the C Major pattern on the 4th fret is the E Major, but I couldn't tell you right now how to play E Major at the open position. I could tough it out, but I think there is a more practical method. I have the scale maps up the fretboard, but have not started to learn them yet....I need a question answered first.

So, next step, should I (1) learn all the other Major scales in the open position or (2) Stick with C Major and learn it up and down the fretboard before working on another?

Which one did you learn? And which gives the best "Aha!" moment? I can see advantages to both methods. I don't want to do a little of both or I will get lost. If I attack this using only one method, I will learn twice as fast.

That said, also since there are 12 of them, I am sure there are only a couple that are most prominent (blues and jazz are what inspire me, but I do like to play around with the slide in open D). Can you please tell me maybe the next two or three keys I should work on?