So I'm a beginner and I play bluegrass/gospel, I was wondering if any of you had any simple licks or techniques that you think I should learn to help improve my knowledge, skill and allow me to be a better overall picker. I'm trying to bluegrass style but everything I try sounds very bluesy and less grassy than I'd like. Not that I don't like the bluesy sound but sometimes it just doesn't fit what I'm doin at the time.

I've learned the G run, and walk ins to the C and G shape, I need to practice hammer ons and pull offs and I also learned a bunch of chords that I occasionally throw into the mix to spice it up but I typically throw too much spice and it ends up sounding too jazzy.

I'd like some very bluegrass licks and maybe some space licks as well because I'm also big into psychedelic folk and psychedelic rock. I'm also into Irish trad but that's a different story.
Likely if you surf over to the Flatpicker's Hangout:

http://www.flatpickerhangout.com

You can find everything you need. They have a good forum, lessons, recordings, all that.

Your basic bluegrass/country technique is the "boom-chicka-boom" thing... Alternating bass notes with a downstroke-upstroke. Often, while accompanying singers, the upstroke is eliminated and its a simple "boom-chick" to allow "room" for the singer.

Traditional stuff is pretty simple, structurally... 3 chords for the most part, maybe a minor if they get frisky....
Contemporary 'grass is more musician-driven, and you'll want to learn to throw in single-line runs and improvise a bit.
Stay in the major scales and the related minor, and the standard pentatonic shapes... They all work well. Generally, breaks are taken by improvising off the melody of the song, rather than getting too wild.
LISTEN to a lot of bluegrass players. YouTube is a great resource. Doc Watson, Norman Blake, David Grier..... Tons of 'em.
To add to that, as far as chord progressions, just a few: