Hello, this is my first time posting here, but i have a question: which would be better, one of the epiphone lp's like a studio or something of the likes, or one of the budget gibson LPJ's or les paul melody makers? I plan on playing a lot of led zeppelin style hard rock, maybe a little blues, i really want that kinda classic loud rock sound but i don't wanna spend any more than 700$ or so. All suggestions to other guitars are also appreciated!

Update: i've been browsing a little, and i finally decided i was gonna give a fender tele hh (humbucker) a try if none of the les pauls do it for me. I'm going to the store in a month or so. Anyone know how those things are? I really like their sound, but i'll know for sure when i go to the store and try it out. All your information was very helpful guys! Thanks!
Last edited by basement-guitar at Feb 6, 2014,
Its hard to really say...I did see an interesting video on youtube where a guy was comparing sound quality between Gibson and Epiphone Les Pauls, allegedly in a blind test. They both sounded awesome. I guess it depends on how much you want to spend. I have an Epi LP 100 and it sounds very nice. The fit and finish are superb. I would recommend you handle and play both to help you make up your mind. For what you want the guitar for, either one will do the job.

Here is a link for the youtube search

https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=gibson%20les%20paul%20vs%20epiphone%20les%20paul&sm=1
Out of a high end Epi and a lower end Gibson its a tough call. Somethings to note are that gibson updated the specs on the LPJs and they have gotten good reviews in general, but most of the compaints have been about the fret work. The melody maker has p90 pickups in it. Personally i would go used and just so happens i found a LP studio that would be better than both those options.

http://www.guitarcenter.com/In-Store-Used-USED-GIBSON-LES-PAUL-STUDIO-FIREBURST-W-C-109789801-i3569754.gc
ESP E-II Horizon FR
Gibson Flying V HET SET