Dear diary,

I decided it was time to let my Ibanez AS73L breathe again. The weather has been really dry until it rained early Saturday morning. I've only had "Cherry" for 2.5 years, and it was suggested to me that I let her acclimate and reset little by little when the tone "richens" or gets sweeter. I was reminded to turn the truss rod when the strings buzzed horribly. I got between 1/3 and 1/2 turn before it was quite bearable to slam on the strings. I was able to hide the dreaded G-string tuning issue at the nut...boy did it get worse with the added relief, or at least I can tell. Cutting a nut is still something I am not good at - I still tend to go too far. I do not have the balls to do it on this guitar. My Strats were easy when I put 11-60 on them, but the action is different. 11-52 jazz of course on this one just like my RG and LP.

Am I doing okay so far? Anybody else love Artcores?

I think I just fell in love again. Damn she sounds good, even playing metal. Still stock from the factory - I don't think I'll ever change the pickups.
First of all, you don't just start cranking away on the truss rod without knowing why you are getting buzzing. It could be that the action is too low, you might have a high or low fret, or it might be too little relief. Your truss rod only addresses the relief, and the fact that the buzzing got worse when you turned the truss rod just proves my point. There are tons of websites that go through how to do a proper setup. It isn't hard, you just need to know what you're doing. So Google guitar setup and take the time to do it right.
I so seldom tweak a truss rod on any guitar that it's just amazing to me the number of threads that talk about it. If your nut is cut properly and your frets are level and the neck is stable (and the weather hasn't done anything drastic and if you've kept your guitar properly humidified), you usually don't need to touch that thing.
Quote by dspellman