Hi there

I'm having somewhat of a conflict inside.

I've been playing guitar for about 3 years, and during that time I played in a few bands, but have no really been good enough to do anything great. I played one of my friends basses a while back and really enjoyed it, and even played bass for a band at some point. I really enjoy bass, but I also enjoy guitar.

Of course as we all know n one needs more guitarists but everyone needs more bassists. I also am a moderately good singer and go to lessons for that, so if I were to get into bass I would at least be able to get into bands, one of my main problem.

The other main problem is that I do not have a bass guitar. I have a MIM strat and an orange TH30 (so a good rig), and I was wondering if i should trade with someone to get a good bass rig.

I am very passionate about music, and for some reason I can think up better bass lines than guitar lines. I will still have my acoustic guitar so I won't be entirely without a guitar.

So should I do it? Should I give up a much loved instrument to get another much loved instrument?

I guess the thing really stopping me is I'm not entirely sure that even if I got a bass I would be able to get into and GOOD bands, and bands that actually do things and not just sit around.(I'm 18 btw, so it's not to do with 14 year old bands or anything).

Thanks

Craig

P.S. If I decided to keep my guitar, it would take me till the end of the year to get a nice bass rig, and I've been wanting this for a long time, and of course I don't really want to wait for the whole year. I could see myself buying another guitar and small nice amp just for myself after I got the bass, but I feel like I need to actually start getting places and not just sitting around waiting for enough money.