Hey y'all!

I've been playing guitar for about 5 years now. I play pretty well, I play a wide range of genres (rock, solos, rythm, lead, slow songs, arpeggios... etc) and every time I practice at home with a background song I'm perfectly in tempo.

I practice my tempo by listening a lot to the drums. How they play in relation to the guitar. What note plays when the drummer hits this or that.

But in my band, god I struggle a lot!

Especially on this song:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t12Y_gdbGQQ

I have a big tempo problem : I can't seem to play in tempo, the drums seem to be playing completely independently to the guitar ?

How can I be better ?
I tried the metronome but it doesn't help because it's only "tick tick tick tick" and that's not what the drums to at all.

I don't know what to do apart from always playing the song 4 ou 5 times per day, but at band practice I seem to forget what I learned at home...

Any advice?

Thanks!
Maybe it's the drummer in your band?

Also, nobody uses a metronome to replace or emulate what a drummer is doing; but a metronome should definitely be used when practicing, especially if you've got what you perceive to be a tempo problem.

Good luck!
but why should it be used when practicing ? it's just a tick tick that doesn't make any sense if I want to practice for instance a Muse song, where the drums are all over the place...
When you're playing with the band, get out of your head and play "outside your head" if you know what i mean. Concentrate on the drummer--even better, concentrate on the bassist if he's any good. A good bassist keeps a not-so-good drummer in line. Don't concentrate on your own playing or you'll get distracted from keeping in time with the rest of the band. That's a fairly easy song to stay in time with, so do as others say and practice with the metronome. The tick tick tick is good for keeping the constant rhythm, so that even when the beats get syncopated you don't miss any or fall behind or play ahead.