Following advice given here I took my new used guitar into a music store for a full "setup". He looked at the guitar and said "It definitely needs a setup and strings. It will make a huge difference."

That got me thinking, what difference could it possibly make? I have some fret buzz so I get that, but what else?

Then I started thinking what is the difference between my $100 used guitar and $1000+ guitar. Is there really a difference? I'm not talking about accessorizes like extra pickups but the quality of the sound. Being a noob I am just curious. Could a casual listener tell the difference?

Ed
It depends on how badly it was set up when you took it in.
Then I started thinking what is the difference between my $100 used guitar and $1000+ guitar. Is there really a difference? I'm not talking about accessorizes like extra pickups but the quality of the sound. Being a noob I am just curious. Could a casual listener tell the difference?

Well, pickups and 'quality of the sound' are very significant factors, but really it isn't a matter of whether or not a casual listener can hear a difference, it is a matter of whether or not you can. You should care about how good you sound otherwise you would be a pretty crappy musician.
Quote by TheSennaj
And well yes, I'll enjoy the carpal tunnel and tendonitis, because trying to get one is clearly smarter than any word you have spoken thus far.
Last edited by T00DEEPBLUE at Feb 6, 2014,
If your guitar is all out of whack, yes, a setup will make a huge difference. A proper setup will make it easier to play and give more consistent playability across the neck.