Howdy, I'm new to guitar. I have a Ibanez Ag95 and Deluxe Players strat. I bought the strat as my first guitar on impulse but feel that i love the hollowbody more as it is the one that encourages me to play. Also, I have an AC30 with a bluesdriver pedal. Now that I'm set up, I'm not sure of what I like to play. I thought it was jazz, but I hate jazz chords. I love blues, but scales are tough and its a slow learning process, but I want to play NOW! So is it rock? I don't know, there's all different kinds.

I came across this video that shows the perfect style I want to play.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FXuRpPXRBa4

At 3:07 into the video, I'm in heaven. He plays a great chord rhythm, then he loops it, and lays the perfect harmony on top of it. I love that style, but i have no idea what it is. Can someone help me understand what style this man is playing from 3:07 to 3:45. Those last two notes he hit just before it cuts out to a different segment are amazing. I want to make my guitar sing like that, but i dont know what hes playing. I also like the 5 minute mark to 5:34... that is also the sound I want to play.

Thanks for any help and guidance as I pave my way down this glorious road of music.
Last edited by MistaChy at Feb 7, 2014,
^ sounds like blues to me.

But man, we can't really tell you the way you have to play.
Play what you like, what comes naturally y' know, you don't necessarily have to tell yourself "I'mma play jazz/metal/whatever now".
Name's Luca.

Quote by OliOsbourne
I don't know anything about this topic, but I just clicked on this thread because of your username :O
Quote by Cajundaddy
Clue: amplifiers amplify so don't turn it on if you need quiet.
Quote by chrismendiola
I guess spambots are now capable of reading minds.
That is the blues right there my man, more specifically the kind of blues that came into existence with Jimi Hendrix and beyond.