Hi all;

I'm new to all this recording malarkey and have just recorded my first full track in Logic X and it sounds rather rough around the edges. It would be fantastic if all you veterans would be able to give me some tips on how to polish this mix and make it sound a bit more presentable.

https://soundcloud.com/harrisonatsix/you-belong-with-me-rough-mix

Cheers;

Harrison
AC30 C2 with greenbacks

Fender JA-90 Telecaster
Fender Mexican classic series 60's Telecaster

MXR Noise Clamp
Dunlop Crybaby
Pro-co Rat 2
Fulltone Plimsoul
Electro Harmonix Big Muff W/ Tone Wicker
Mooer Orange 90
Vox Delay Lab
Your guitar misses a lot of body.
Does this even have a bass?
I'm missing bass and sub-bass, find them somewhere and raise them.
The bass drum sounds a bit thump-y to me, like a felt beater on a coated heat, so try making it punchier.
Ow yeah I hear the bass now, though it's not really that low in frequency.

Bottom line, this thing needs more bass.
Find it where you prefer - your bass drum, your bass, your guitars, wherever it sounds better to you, and then make it heardable.

Plus it's a bit empty.
It may be what you're after, just 3 instruments and no frills, though mind that you should be adding some kind of bigger guitar and bass sound to make it fuller if you still wanna keep it low-frills, and some other guitar tracks plus maybe keyboards and maybe a pad and similar stuff.

Try taking your R U Mine cover, that sounds a bit fuller.
Your guitar sounds fuller, and the rest sound fuller.
It has vocals, the cymbals' sound last longer and the bass there is a lot bigger.

What speakers are you mixing the thing with?
Name's Luca.

Quote by OliOsbourne
I don't know anything about this topic, but I just clicked on this thread because of your username :O
Quote by Cajundaddy
Clue: amplifiers amplify so don't turn it on if you need quiet.
Quote by chrismendiola
I guess spambots are now capable of reading minds.