Some of you may have seen the recent video of Soft Cell's Tainted Love performed by litteral disc drives. If you haven't, check it out, it's pretty cool: YouTube Link.

Anyway, I was wondering if there is an effect pedal, or a combination of them, that could simulate the sound of the disc drives in this video. I've been playing guitar for 8 years but I'm pretty new to guitar pedals so I have no idea where to even start.
Quote by GunMetal125
Some of you may have seen the recent video of Soft Cell's Tainted Love performed by litteral disc drives. If you haven't, check it out, it's pretty cool: YouTube Link.

Anyway, I was wondering if there is an effect pedal, or a combination of them, that could simulate the sound of the disc drives in this video. I've been playing guitar for 8 years but I'm pretty new to guitar pedals so I have no idea where to even start.

Not sure if I should report this or try to help or throw up or what.

I did check the link and seems legit - I just don't understand the purpose of the thread.
Quote by GunMetal125

there are pedals out there that can read the input from a guitar signal and make it 'sync' another signal as output. for example, pedals like the moog Freq Box take a guitar signal as input and then sync it to an oscillator with different waveforms so that the output signal of the freq box matches the pitch of the input signal from the guitar even though the output signal is a completely different signal than the input.

midi guitars are a more elaborate way of doing this. i have seen midi guitars with fret triggers that can tell what fret and string you are playing and i have seen guitars with midi pickups that detect the pitch of the note you are playing. either way, the note is then turned into a midi signal that can be used to trigger any sound sample (midi instrument) you have. so technically you sample anything (disk drives, farts, a sex noise) and the guitar could trigger it.