ive been playing bass for almost 2 years. I learned to play by mostly just playing around and making up cool riffs. ive tried watching lessons before but, there too simple and boring. Is this a bad way to learn an instrument?
Nope, theres nothing wrong with doing it that way. You might not progress as quickly as people who use the videos and other tools, especially when they start getting more technical, music theory and etc. As long as you enjoy what you do, go with it.
There's no right or wrong way to learn to play. I would say most musicians in rock bands are pretty much self taught.

If something feels boring, you don't need to do it. You want playing an instrument to be fun. Of course it's sometimes good to do some a bit more boring stuff (basics are usually kind of boring). But yeah, if you don't want to do it, don't do it. Just playing around and making your own music is great. You want to make music. Being creative is good and IMO that's the purpose of playing an instrument.
Quote by AlanHB
Just remember that there are no boring scales, just boring players.

Gear

Bach Stradivarius 37G
Charvel So Cal
Fender Dimension Bass
Hartke HyDrive 210c
Ibanez BL70
Laney VC30
Tokai TB48
Yamaha FG720S-12
Yamaha P115
As long as you don't develop any bad habits that will actually impact you physically (i.e. bad technique that could lead to carpal tunnel syndrome or something), then I see no issue with it for the typical bedroom player.

pretentious small text, right justified signature
UG's professional coffee nerd
also UG's musical theatre nerd
roscoe's wetsuit
Quote by MaggaraMarine
There's no right or wrong way to learn to play. I would say most musicians in rock bands are pretty much self taught.