I am a newb on a budget. I only have about £450 to spend on gear.

I am looking for any recommendations for guitar gear. I have been using a Orange Crush PiX CR20LDX Combo With Digital Effects which was good at just £130ish until I broke it, and ever since, even after repair it sounds terrible, the effects still sound decent though. I like the chorus and vibrato a lot. I have 0 pedals because I've been waiting to decide on a new amp before I even consider those. My guitar is a fender 65' mustang reissue.

The kind of guitar tone I'm looking for is something like Diiv , beach fossils or slowdive etc. Obviously you can't bracket them into one sound but that's the drift I want. I know for a fact Slowdive and DIIV use Roland JC-120's which seems to be the go to amp for this sound but I'm not sure I'd find one pop up cheap enough (Closest I found was a used one at £450). Is there a cheaper alternative?

As far as pedals go, again, I have no clue, I've been trying to identify some of the pedals bands I like use and they're things like Roland Space Echo's which is far too much for me to consider.

Can anyone recommend me anything for my budget? Is it it better to simply buy a good amp or a cheaper one with some good pedals? Any advice will help me because I have no idea what I'm on about.

Thanks
Last edited by lameboy23 at Feb 9, 2014,
If you can squeeze out a JC-120 and worry about effects later, that's the way to go. A good amp will go a long, long way
Gibson SG Standard
Gibson Les Paul Traditional
Cort Explorer
Squire Standard Strat rebuilt with Fender USA parts
Squire Tele
Krank 1980
Orange Tiny Terror
Traynor YCV 50 Blue
Peavey Vypyr 75

Will fly for food. Call me Dylan
The big Roland Cubes do a pretty good job of sounding like a JC.
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Atomic Amplifire
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100

Cathbard Amplification
My band