Hey folks,

I'm a classically trained pianist on an advanced level and I've played professionally for many years.

Someone gave me a guitar for my birthday (I used to play many years ago), and I'm wondering if the callousses and wear and tear on my hands from playing guitar could potentially have a negative effect on my ability to be a sensitive pianist?

What do you think?
well if your a woman then the tips of your finger might go hard but if not stop being a baby and get on with it .
No. A soft touch for playing something like pianissimo comes from a soft, controlled action from the finger joints, wrist and possibly your arms. Calluses on the fingertips won't affect anything.

The difference in skin thickness would be infinitesimally little, and the only effect would be a little more resistance to high, concentrated pressures on very small points (i.e strings) with, again, not much effect to sensitivity on the fingertips.

I think it's also interesting to note it's similar to the calluses on the side of your thumbs after practicing hard on the piano.
I've been playing guitar for 10 years, and hardly ever get callouses. There's usually one on my left hand middle finger but its not bad.
I've been playing guitar for 18 years and I don't have callouses.
Hi, I'm Peter
Quote by chookiecookie
how do you all not have callouses

Wut even

The brand new Ernie Ball super softie .00002 gauge strings! :P

Just joking, I don't get this either. I play an electric with light strings and still get callouses. So yea.
As for the OP, no, calloused fingers won't harm your piano ability. The other posters gave very valid points, so start playing!
Quote by Navi_96
Just joking, I don't get this either. I play an electric with light strings and still get callouses.

I play bass and still don't get calluses. Go figure.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo