Hi. Im a beginner guitarist, 16 years old, been learning for about two months so far through internet and youtube. I'd like to know how long will it take to be able to play well in a band, maybe play solos if possible. Because next year, some bands from my school will be holding auditions at the start of the year and i wanna know is it possible, is there any possibility at all of me being able to get a place? (These bands mainly play rock, pop rock) I have about 1 year to practice as hard as possible, is it possible to learn and practice what I need to know before then?

Currently my progress is like this: I started two months ago, by the end of the first month I could play most open chords on an acoustic guitar (which is also the only guitar I have, no electric, planning to buy one soon). Now I have learnt to play quite a few chord progressions, can kinda play songs smoothly. I can play power chords on acoustic (I know its not meant to be like that but i dont have an electric). I can play easy songs, smoke on the water, rock you like a hurricane, you give love a bad name. I just started learning scales and want to learn to play solos soon.

Basically I want to know from some experienced guitarists out there, how good is my progress? Is it possible to be able to be good enough to play solos and good rhythm by early next year? It may be far fetched, but iff there is a slightest hint of a possibility I am completely willing to practice for 2-3 hours per day and more on weekends. If thats not enough I am also willing to pay to get a guitar teacher also.

Help and advice please?
How good your progress is doesn't really... exist. The notion of progress relative to other people is such a deeply flawed notion that comparing two guitarists is basically meaningless.