Hi guys!

I'm turning twenty in early March. In about a month, I'm about to move out of my parent's house into an apartment with a couple of good, reliable friends and restart my failed college career. I've decided that this is going to be a positive turning point in my life. So I wanted to begin with a problem that has been ailing me for years - my electric guitar technique and skill

I started playing guitar as a freshman in high school on a dinky little Epiphone Special II, but I eventually upgraded to an Ibanez GRG170DX. I added Seymour Duncan Blackout active pickups for an aggressive meaty tone I want to pick up a new guitar once I prove to myself I can advance my playing to a new level.

Let me tell you briefly of my guitar inspirations/favorite bands.

- Veil of Maya - Marc Okubo is a complete beast, and his finger dexterity and usage of dissonant chords is so intriguing to me; I met him at one of his shows and I was at a loss for words at his skill.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4YMFgzNW8yE

- Animals as Leaders - Tosin Abasi and Javier Reyes are amazing guitars that I wish to imitate and learn from, but they are lightyears beyond my current skill level.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NmfzWpp0hMc

- Periphery - Misha Mansoor, Adam "Nolly" Getgood, Mark Holcomb, and Jake Bowen
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=spCmStMOiHE

- Meshuggah - legends.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U4GXNzom6ik

- Volumes
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iLoDiIijO1k

- Tesseract
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=get0cXOsSXg

- Polyphia - probably the exact kind of music I would like to produce
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=utL8DfB6m7o

- Dream Theater, A Day To Remember, Issues

...You get the point.