Hey all,

I'm an Australian guitarist, so gear is pretty scarce at good prices here. I've been playing guitar for a few years, but kind of lost my way a while back. Moved to Melbourne and have been back with a vengeance and I'd like to look into joining a band with the hopes of doing some small (or not so small oneday) gigs. This is kind of a long post, I'm not looking to get anyone else's tone, so I sort of have to be descriptive.

I've got an American Strat and an RGD2127z as my main nice guitars, a couple of others as sort of backups.

Used to be a bit of a metal guy, still love Dream Theater but I can probably just play that through my Eleven Rack, I won't sweat over the amp not being able to get that tone.

I like a good clean tone, but nothing too chimey like a Twin Reverb. I like it to be warm-ish and just on the verge of break up all the time, so if I pick a little bit harder or crank the volume on my guitar I get a little crunch.

I love fuzz, I'm going to pick up a vintage Big Muff (or a clone, budget's kind of tight) in the next few months I think. Other than that I would only use a medium-light flanger on the clean channel and some sort of analogue delay before the pre-amp. I like the delay to respond very strongly to dynamics and go absolutely mental when the crunch starts kicking in. I rarely use delay with higher gain tones though.

Dynamics are VERY important. I want to use my pick and volume knob to control attack and gain. I want to be able to go almost clean with a light touch and low guitar volume and get pretty saturated when I go all out.

I've really liked the sound of Orange lately and was looking at a used or new Dual Terror and a 2x12 cab. But I also saw an Orange AD30H (single channel, BIG master and gain knobs, there seems to be a different, newer, version) used with a 2x12 cab for $1500 negotiable. Not sure what that sounds like but I'm thinking I'd like to try it I've heard similar amps on youtube and they sounded promising.