Page 1 of 2
muzix
301 IQ
i'm looking to get a new guitar. i'm a beginner and i want to get a "Gibson 2014 Les Paul Studio Pro". i really liked this guitar, however, i noticed that the previous guitar i started out with, has a tremelo arm. now, this may sound like a dumb question, but i would like to know why the "Gibson 2014 Les Paul Studio Pro" does not have a tremelo arm. what's the difference? is this good or bad? also, could you guys help me choose a really good guitar within my budget of about 1500USD. thank you!

btw, forgot to add this. i like to play metal, alternative rock, sometimes blues stuff.
Last edited by muzix at Feb 12, 2014,
mhanbury2
42 IQ
Because you tend to get more sustane without a tremelo. As far as I know the alex lifeson les Paul is the only one that comes with a trem. There's a few parts you can buy to add a tremalo without drilling but there expensive and I think your better off adding a bigsby if you want to go that route.

If your not set on Gibson there's a lot of options out there in your price range I would look into PRS ce22 or the s2 custom 24.
jthm_guitarist
"funny" but "unmemorable"
1,474 IQ
That is a large budget for a complete beginner, remember to buy a good amp because that is possibly more important than the guitar.

As for the tremolo arm, it's just up to your preference. Are you going to use it? If not it will be easier to tune without it.

Quote by emad
jthm_guitarist
Warned for trolling!

Quote by metal4eva_22
Didn't you say that you had a stuffed fox that you would occasionally fuck?

Quote by Axelfox
It's not a fox,it's a wolf.
dtscott2
54 IQ