Whats up guys and girls, this is my first post on this site, and I am really looking for some insight in what seems to be a guitar rut for me.

Lately I have decided to devote a lot more time to practicing playing, because I finally realized that just like anything else you get what you put in. I have been playing guitar for about 8 years now, but really only starting playing a lot a few years ago. I absolutely love playing and have an undying passion for all music, mainly hard rock and heavy metal.

What I am looking for is some insight, no matter how much I practice or play riffs/songs/licks over and over I cant never seem to gain any speed to get up to where I feel I would want to be, and it is really bringing me down because I spend hours practicing and playing lately. Another thing that I notice is that my pick will get caught(only seldom) on the strings during triplet playing a lot, or when going from a fast run on say the low e to a chord on the a, sometimes I cannot get my pick clear from the low e and I'll hit that too unintentionally. and I will fatigue out quickly. I hope these issues in my playing pass, It is dragging me down lately, and I'm working hard to fix these! Help!

I am hoping someone can give me some insight on these few things, and maybe someone has had similar problems but gotten through them?

Thanks in advance!
Pretty much in a similar position here.

Years spent playing rock/blues lead, and got "comfortable" with what I now realise is really sloppy technique (at least for the stuff I want to play now - more metal ).

It's SO hard to unlearn, that I've had to stop "playing".

I can sit with videos or books and practice good "technique" i.e: relaxed good posture and position, controlled fingerings etc, but my GOD am I slow and mostly sound AWFUL!

The temptation is always to go back to my old ways just to play quick and sound "ok" again.

But as soon as I do, I realise my technique goes all to hell.