I've been messing around with guitars for many years. I've played many different rock sub-genres but I've spent the most time trying to emulate Hendrix. Just recently (about 6 months ago) I became frustrated with the fact that my playing/knowledge had plateaued, so I began spending a lot of time learning theory.

The theory is coming to me fine, but there's one thing that still bothers me: it seems that when I "jam"--that is, when I totally surrender to the music and play from the heart as best I can--I always produce a definitively bluesy sound. I suppose this is due to several years of playing pentatonic and blues scales.

I would like to have different sounds that come second-nature to me; I love blues and blues-rock (such as JH, Allman Brothers, The White Stripes, etc.) but I also love grunge, psychedelia, indie, punk, and so on. I cannot pin down the musical themes in the songs of these genres and so I feel like I am unable to "learn" these genres.

Has anyone experienced a similar phenomenon? Has anyone found exercises that helped?

Thanks.
start playing jazz, but start from the beginning, louis armostrong, charlie christian, Django and all of that. It really incorporates A LOT of other sounds. And if you actually play it, that means, learn the standards, play along with recordings, learn solos, It will automatically come to you just like the minor pent did.
Quote by telescoper
II also love grunge, psychedelia, indie, punk, and so on. I cannot pin down the musical themes in the songs of these genres and so I feel like I am unable to "learn" these genres.

Has anyone experienced a similar phenomenon? Has anyone found exercises that helped?

Take song you like of those genres, and figure out how they are played. Transcribe them.
Quote by macashmack
Take song you like of those genres, and figure out how they are played. Transcribe them.

Yeah, just learn them, figure out how they work.
And no, Guitar Hero will not help. Even on expert. Really.
Soundcloud