I started just half a year ago yet I can really see how my music taste changed. I didnt know much about how guitar sounds from songs i liked was produced.

A simple example is that I remember watching my friend playing and back then I didnt enjoy overdrive. Now while playing I LOVE overdrive and I get the feeling to put a little drive no matter what I'm playing. Even when I do finger exercises I love the sound of overdrive .

I had no certain idea about blues. I started listening to it around the same time I started playing. Now I can appreciate the tone & flow of blues way better. Ofcourse I do not understand every note one by one but I get the feeling of it way better.

Ofcourse then there is metal. I do not like it still. Yet now I can understand why some people do. I did learn some riffs from metal songs and I can say that it is fun to play them.
well after a while you will most likely change things as you understand more on the guitar. for me the biggest lesson learned was to go with my strengths and really learn what they are. sure I wanted to be a shredder back in the day and put a lot of energy into that. pretty much found that that wasn't my strong suit regardless of how much practice. i'll never be vai or yngwie. once I started to work with what I could play well (never stop practicing what you aren't good at though) I found myself much happier. I still ad bits of styles to my own and will try pretty much anything cuz you never know.

over 30 years of playing and still have a long way to go. (some of my originals in profile)
I learned to appreciate music for being music and I started to listen to a wider range of music. I have always enjoyed music since I can remember, but when I started to learn music I could appreciate different styles and approaches that I could not before.