Page 1 of 2
Do you believe there are physical limitations that prevent us from reaching certain goals in our playing? I'm not into shredding so the speeds I'm trying to attain are not exceptional, but I struggle with a lot of the licks of my influences, like Hendrix, Santana, Allman, Page etc. I've been playing for over 12 years so I feel I have the technique required to play at their speeds down, but I still can't quite get there. In order to get my speed up I try to play the first solo to Hendrix's All Along the Watchtower, but this has been going on for some time and I still can't get it. I don't even know if I'm making progress, it's hard to tell. I use a metronome, but it just seems like I never progress no matter how much I practice. I've made all the little tweaks I can to help, so it makes me wonder if the common denominator here is what's allowing them to play that fast...their long fingers. My fingers aren't short , maybe average to slightly above average, but I just wonder if they're too short to get the same explosiveness they had.

Do you think sometimes all this talk of "practice practice practice and you'll get faster" is false encouragement? After 12 years, maybe the reality is I'm as fast as my fingers will allow.
Quote by JMH 1983