Hey, i'm new to the UG Community!

After waiting for a couple months, i just received my guitar today, a Taylor Big Baby.
I like it a lot, the appearance, sound and also since I have small hands, the width and height of the fretboard is just right for me. But sadly, it was damaged when I opened it so i'll be returning it for a new one which will come in another two weeks.

I'm experienced with Classical Guitars with their nylon strings which were pretty easy and simple to play with since they're not too difficult to press and play as to steel strings.

Since the Taylor Big Baby has steel strings, i've been having difficulty putting enough pressure on the strings so that it would produce a clear sound but because it requires a lot of pressure and it also hurts my fingers a lot, it comes out as a buzzing and unclear sound. I know, my fingers aren't that strong....lol. It just gets really tiring and painful to hold and have that hard/same pressure against the strings.

Is there any way to reduce the pressure so it'd be more easier for me to play and press down the strings more comfortably? I've heard about changing the strings or something about adjusting the truss rod.

Any advice?
Could be a high action or could just be that you need to get used it. Measure the distance from the strings to the 12th fret and let us know.
I would try lighter strings and a set up to start, also it takes time for the muscles in your fingers to adjust and get more efficient/stronger. Try to play slow and use the minimum amount of pressure without buzzing I know this sounds really obvious, but when the strings are buzzing the natural reaction is to over compensate and press harder than needed.
just have it set up properly with some extra light strings and you should be fine. You gotta build up those calluses playing a steel strings!!