So, I'm a personal injury lawyer currently representing insurance companies, though in the past I've worked for injury victims. In the more distant past, I handled a lot of contract disputes, business litigation, and a little entertainment litigation and intellectual property stuff.

I'm getting more and more interested in transitioning my career into something I am passionate about, like music. It would be great if I could make a living as a musician, but that currently seems like a pipe dream. But maybe I could get into doing entertainment law for musicians or something along those lines. I took classes in entertainment law & copyright law in school because I thought I might be interested in that field, though I ultimately did not find a job doing that out of law school. I'm rusty, but could probably get up to speed reading a few books or taking a continuing education course.

But before I make that kind of transition, I'm kind of wondering about the market from the view of musicians. I expect the vast majority of us on here have not gotten to the point, musically, where we needed to hire a lawyer. But if anyone here has experience with that, I'm curious at what point did that happen -- how big do you need to get, what kind of prospects lead you to make that decision, and how do you select your lawyer, do you even care if the lawyer knows anything about music? Or is all this left to your agent/manager? I used to know a lawyer from my school who became a music agent, so maybe there's a lot of overlap there, too.

Well, if anyone has info on this and can share it, it could be a resource for me, or for anyone else curious about this.

Ken
Bernie Sanders for President!
Why could'nt you just stick with what you got now and on the side music?
Whats goes around must come down
Because (pardon the term) chasing ambulances is probably eating away his soul.