Hello everyone,

first post, hope it's in the right place. I'm after a little bit of advice about what to do with my Epiphone Les Paul, apologies that its so long!

bit of background on me, skip this if you don't give a monkeys - started learning about 12 years ago on a pacifica and after a couple of years I was kindly given the epiphone by a family friend who found it lying in the loft. I was 17 and well chuffed to have a 'les paul' and soon after sold the yamaha. practice died a death at university and it gathered dust for a few years but now i'm getting back into playing in a big way and really want to step things up. I love playing classic rock, little bit of blues and a tiny bit of metal.

so, the guitar... i've never known a lot about it, looking up the serial number online its apparently made by samick in korea in 1994. body is heavy, i think it could be mahogany with a plain maple top. It sounds pretty good i think (i'm not experienced enough to really tell the difference) but perhaps lacks a bit of range to the tones it can manage. It also has a dent in frets 5 and 6 which can be a bit of a mid-riff-mood-killer and causes some buzz on the bottom strings. slightly lesser concerns include some minor issues with tuning and i always seem to be tinkering with the action.

so firstly does anyone know anything about the Epi LP models from this era? worth investing in? the way i see it, i could do any of the following:
- get the frets fixed, upgrade the pickups and get myself a bad ass LP with good variable tones (but still an Epi)
- get the frets fixed but stop there, save the cash and get a strat for tone variation
- sell as is and buy something more versatile (chapman ml-2/LPJ for example, although haven't tried either yet)

all thoughts welcome, especially any info on the guitar, thanks for reading!
Anything that involves not playing an Epi Les Paul is a good idea to me, but I'm bias.
OBEY THE MIGHTY SHITKICKER