I'm new here, so pardon me if I do this wrong.

I started playing guitar about 8 months ago, and I've gotten pretty good. I have an old Fender Acoustic, and it's served me well for awhile, but now I'm in the market for a new one. I know the guitar that's best is a personal preference, but I'm just looking for advice on brands or what I should be looking for. There's a Guitar Center nearby, and I plan on going there soon and looking, so I'm asking for advice now.

I mainly play rock and classic rock, and I'm looking for something with a rich sound, as my Fender is laminated and I don't really like that sound. It doesn't matter if it's acoustic-electric or not, I'm just looking for the best sound quality. The problem is, I don't have a huge budget. I need it to be between $400-$500, and I know that's not a lot to work with. All I'm looking for are some suggestions as to what I should be looking for. Thanks in advance, and if you need any more info, just ask.
tough one. there are so many choices out there in that range. Seagull and Yamaha seem to be everyone's frontrunners. there are some good Takamines as well as many others.
do you prefer the smaller 1 11/16" width neck or the (ever-so-slightly) wider 1 3/4" nut width?
i myself don't find much of a difference. i go between them with nary a thought about it. maybe i'm just used to them both.
need more gear and a lot more talent(courtesytuxs)
Good sound and playability are expensive. Try some of the midrange models $500 to $1000.
Quote by dcsheehan
. The problem is, I don't have a huge budget. I need it to be between $400-$500, and I know that's not a lot to work with. All I'm looking for are some suggestions as to what I should be looking for. Thanks in advance, and if you need any more info, just ask.
Quote by squier55
Good sound and playability are expensive. Try some of the midrange models $500 to $1000.