Hi,

As a drummer myself i'm struggeling to get MIDI drums to sound right. I've tried automatic humanizing and manual editing, which improves the end-result, but I'd like to know how to get the drums to sound as human as on the Animals as Leaders albums for instance.

Here is an example of one of my MIDI tracks and the sound through my SD2.0 preset:

MIDI track

SD2.0 track

If you guys have any tips on how to improve my MIDI, maybe the drum mix itself, it would be much appreciated!
Think like a drummer. Which beats will have accents on? Which hits are syncopated or not holding the tempo (more keeping groove)? Adjust velocities accordingly.
Especially with things like cymbal hits, they never sound exactly the same throughout a whole bar of hitting the same on. Either set up another instance of the drum VST just for extra cymbals to increase variety, or edit the velocities every hit.
Also quantization. No human, no matter how good, plays like a computer. There will be slight changes to time keeping in places where the 'mood' of the song either slows down or gets more aggressive.
Another thing on the topic of quantized beats, make sure when you have times where 2 or more pieces are struck at the same time (cymbals and snare, hi hat and kick, toms and snare etc) that the 2 hits don't start in the same millisecond. Add a tiny amount of delay by shifting one of the notes a few milliseconds forward or back to compensate.
Lastly, don't fall into the trap of copy-pasting and leaving it at that. By all means, do that to get a basic structure down, then perhaps record some guitars/bass over top, but then come back and work out which bits could be changed up slightly each time around. No professional drummer repeats themselves endlessly. Add a new hit in here or there, grace notes, different fills, use different cymbals on the second verse etc etc
It gives the track some motion and progression without sounding like someone just figured out loopmaster.