what companies give you the best bang for your buck when it comes to custom guitars?
Guitars:
Agile Interceptor Pro 828
Martin and Fender acoustics

Amp:
Bias amps
The ones that give you what you want at a price you'd pay.

The question is too subjective; too broad. Depends too much on what you actually want.

That said, I'd look at semi-custom makers like Carvin and US Masters for delivering good value for money, and true customs like Jon Kammerer, Rock Beach, Crimson, Myka, Rice, Hi-Tone, Driskill, Bowes, Blade, Caparison, Rolf Spuler, Stevens UK, Bacorn, Ruokangas, Maton...

The list goes on.
Sturgeon's 2nd Law, a.k.a. Sturgeon's Revelation: “Ninety percent of everything is crap.”

Why, yes, I am a lawyer- thanks for asking!

Log off and play yer guitar!

Strap on, tune up, rock out!
I really like Carvins...

Rondo Music has a pretty good semi-custom thing going on. http://www.rondomusic.com/customquote.html

For example, you can get the AL-3XXX (LP alike) with 24, 24.75, 25.5, 27, 28.625 or 30" scales.
Right or left handed.
Various kinds of binding (or no binding)
Four kinds of bridge (including Floyd and Kahler)
Nickel silver, stainless or no frets.
ebony, maple or rosewood fretboards
Various inlays,
Neck-through or set neck
contoured body, neck heel
chambered or not
single or doublecut
22 or 24 frets
buncha colors/finishes
Last edited by dspellman at Feb 26, 2014,
I thought I saw somewhere that us masters had shut down. The websites still there so I'm not sure.

Carvin makes some great guitars with a lot of options but also has a few limits on what you can get. They will not do custom inlays or sell non carving pickups.
Quote by mhanbury2

Carvin makes some great guitars with a lot of options but also has a few limits on what you can get. They will not do custom inlays or sell non carving pickups.

Right. They're technically semi-customs, I guess.
That's part of the reason they do pretty well as "bang for the buck" guitars.