Writing to me is a very complex and sometimes frustrating aspect to music. There's so much to think about! I've been playing for about 7 years and have been writing for 1 year, but i'm having a lot of trouble sticking to what i play. It doesn't sound bad to me but i don't have faith in the notes as i should. I want to know what are some techniques you guys use to write music. Do you meditate, vocalize a melody and record it, record jams, or what?
Sigs are for salad tossers.
i tend to be pretty definite about the music i write, but, frankly, any method that leads to a finished product works.
Anfangen ist leicht, Beharren eine Kunst.
I write by inspiration. Songs happen inwardly, and then I just follow it to it's end. If I reach a dead end, I work out possibilities based upon the theory I know, such as, do I try some modal interchange, reverse polarity, etc. I have so many ways I can do this, but the end result is, it either reinvigorates inspiration, or, it gets shelved until I find that missing piece.

Best,

Sean
I improvise, whatever sounds good- stays. At times some, I would have more structured ideas, - generally will be able to realize them.
I use notation software a lot of the time, this way i have a lot more room for experimentation and i can hear multiple parts being played together (guitar, guitar 2, bass, drums etc) while i edit the music, without having to have a band with me at the time. It is also good for trying out licks etc that i can't immediately play myself, therefore i can hear how they will sound solo or with other instruments before i practice and master them.
One method I've grown bored of is harvesting riffs and piecing them together.

So now I'm picking up the guitar, firing up Guitar Pro 6 and working through compositions bit by bit.