hey ho,

My friend donated me a bass amp because im pretty broke atm. My guitar sounds okay on it (better than playing without an amp hahah). But sadly it has no gain setting, so i was wondering if i buy a distortion pedal for it, would i be able to play songs like unholy confessions from A7x. Or would it still sound like shit since its a bass amp ? Would i be better off buying a guitar amp for 50 bucks or a distortion pedal ? It has 4 Eq settings. ( im pretty new to all this so i have no clue if that info matters)

And how should i set the eq on the bass amp for my guitar to sound as decent as possible?
i have bass, mid-low, mid-high and treble.

so ye thats all ,thx in advance
A guitar amp costing $50 would be a waste of time.

If that's all you've got, then a cheap distortion pedal would be the best option, but it wouldn't sound great through that amp - passable at best. Something like a Joyo perhaps?

Then start saving your money so you can get a real amp somewhere down the line.
Gibson LP Traditional, LP GT, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm >TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30
Marshall TSL602
Jet City JCA22H
My SoundCloud
You won't get a good guitar amp for $50. I'm not sure if a distortion pedal would sound good through a bass amp, someone else might know. And it depends on what pedal you would get also. I'm not sure about EQ's though, I've never played guitar through a bass amp.
Quote by chrisyoonyoon
where i'm from it's very different with emotionships
kk thx for the quick reply.
i have a macbook and they have garageband as a default app. u think buying a usb adapter for my guitar cable and using that as my amp would be better? or one of those vox amplugs ?
Quote by notkevin
kk thx for the quick reply.