Hey there, I am not a Guitar expert, nor a tech either.
But, there is a cheapie I bought for 100€, at first as a beginner I was almost satisfied, however I still have hopes for that boy..

He looks like Stratocaster's bastard son, a Statocaster body with Ibanez pickups, and the input is on the side of the guitar body instead on front like Stratocaster, and it has no pick guard, its just black and brown.
Changing strings also didn't result a difference.

Despite his bad performance, he looks quite sexy, so I still have my hopes on that guitar. I don't see how the quality of the wood, would impact the quality of the tone..

I did a little research on other guitars, despite I could not find the manufactuer because its non-existant anymore, and found something VERY odd about the inside of the guitar.

The tone knob is missing a resistor, it only has a cap wich i am not sure what kind of cap it is. But instead a resistor its bridged with a simple wire. Kudos to the crappy author.

I know I can't get it to polished-studio quality-jimmy hendrix-astonishing tone, but at least make it sound clean and deep.

Here is a image gallery for that kid.
http://imgur.com/a/L0V47#0

So any expert would give any advice?
Last edited by Fensonous at Mar 2, 2014,
What amp are you using?
Gibson SG Standard
Gibson Les Paul Traditional
Cort Explorer
Squire Standard Strat rebuilt with Fender USA parts
Squire Tele
Krank 1980
Orange Tiny Terror
Traynor YCV 50 Blue
Peavey Vypyr 75

Will fly for food. Call me Dylan
I have a 30w tube amp, I also tried the guitar to a computer vst, I also didn't liked it.
What tube amp do you have?

Do you or your friends have another guitar you can try out with your amp to see if that tone is more preferable? If it is, then odds are you just dont like the guitar. If you must keep that guitar, then you probably need to replace all of the electronics/pickups because it sounds like there is something fishy going on there.